Skip to content

Reflections, Visions and a New Year

January 3, 2012

So this is my first post of 2012 and as I sit here I have to say that 2011 has left me with bitter sweet memories and events. We started 2011 coming together as husband and wife when we were married in New Orleans on January 19th.

20120103-232148.jpg

We had a fantastic wedding and honeymoon and were excited to begin this new chapter of our lives together. 2011 started off with many opportunities I started to focus more on doing what I loved to do which is the Spiritual Life Coaching and Intuitive Sessions and we sold Stilettoteez.com but have been able to maintain rights to our images and continue to design new shirts. Rob began to focus more on http://www.robertvelasco.com and more photography work started to flow in. The year began for us in a positive note and we were looking forward to expanding our visions and horizons.

Then on April 21st my father passed away.

20120103-233046.jpg

He died peacefully in my arms after a long battle with Pulmonary Fibrosis. Losing my father was the hardest experience of my life but even that event was bitter sweet. He was suffering during his final days and watching him deteriorate was extremely difficult so when he passed on I was left with a feeling of peace and sadness and was content in that he died knowing he was loved.

A two months later I was let go from my job of 13 years it was the only secure income we had but I left the office that day feeling a sense of joy and freedom. I wasn’t sure how we were going to manage I just knew we would and losing my job didn’t ruffle my feathers in the least bit. I saw it as an opportunity to really focus on doing what I loved to do.

2011 also allowed us to meet new people and make new friends and towards the end of the year I was able to have office space at a local salon where I am available for readings 2 days a week. My readings and coaching expanded and I gained new Clients from places as far off as Panama, Mexico, Chile, and France. And because we’ve had time to travel we’ve gotten opportunities to take photos of places like Eastern State Penn, Cape Cod, Plymouth Mass, Sleepy Hallow and the botanical gardens.

2011 gave me an opportunity to learn a lot about myself, about how resilient I am about how my marriage is and how well we work as a team. It taught me to open myself up to new possibilities, it gave me a quick and harsh lesson on becoming an adult with my fathers death and it allowed me to flow with each situation and enable myself to manage the ups and downs with little to no stress or anxiety.

In all as I say goodbye to 2011 I am filled with sadness for my losses and joys for my accomplishments and life steps. People often ask me how I keep myself so positive the reality is its a mind set you have to flow with each situation and learn to accept everything that comes and in the wise words of Walt Disney you have to dream it for it to come through. So I dream my life into new manifestations, I accept the things I cannot change and am secure in knowing that right at this moment I am where I am supposed to be.

To all of you who have effected and touched our lives this year I wish you all the best for this coming year and beyond.

Happy New Year!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

