Skip to content

Diary of the Unemployed

November 14, 2011

I haven’t written my diary of the unemployed post in quite a while now so I figured I’d give everyone an update. So here we are 5 months since I was set free from my job and I am still unemployed. Yes I’m working on making my dreams of becoming a full time life coach and reader come true but in the meantime I’m still searching for work as required by unemployment. The crazy thing is that everyday I search the job engine websites and there is nothing in my field. Seems like everything I over saturated.

So I get ask a lot how I have managed to keep myself so positive considering the year I had. For those of you who don’t know how my 2011 has gone so far I’ll tell you. The end of 2010 my dad’s pulmonary fibrosis kicked in full force. He was placed on oxygen full time and he deteriorated rather quickly. In April during Easter weekend my father passed away. On June 3rd my husbands unemployment ran out on that same day I lost my job, medical insurance and was told that I had to have a breast biopsy.

Now anyone could spiral into a depression as a result of these things happening but the way I reacted to all these losses and life events was the saving grace in my emotional health. As sad as I was on the loss of my father I am grateful that my one hope that he would not die alone came true. On April 21 at 8am my father died in my arms as I talked him through his last moments. I’m at peace with the fact that he knew how much I loved him that he died with me holding him and that he was not alone which was my biggest fear.

The job I had had become very toxic they had released a number of staff targeting those that made the most money. When they told me I was done I felt a weight lifted off of my shoulders and was actually grateful that I was let go. Yes we’ve had financial difficulties but the peace of mind and the fact that now I can focus some energy at doing what I do best has made it a great trade off. With the biopsy I was giving a free one by the women’s center in my town because I had built a relationship with the staff and was given a clean bill of health. And being home allowed me to help my husband push his photography business.

I didn’t look at the losses as a horrible event but focused on the grateful aspects of each one. If this had happened years ago I honestly don’t think I would have been able to climb out of the negative thoughts about what was happening but having worked on my emotional and spiritual health has made a big difference.

Now don’t get me wrong in have my moments of fear, sadness, ect but those are few and far between. One of the important things we must remember is that what is important is not what happens in your life but how you react to what happens.

When you can see the good in all life events it makes things a lot easier which is why I promote the gratitude journals and vision boards, meditation and more.

To read more about my service visit http://www.readings2011.webs.com.

20111114-125405.jpg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

