Skip to content

Diary of the Unemployed

June 17, 2011

So I have officially passed my second week as an unemployed person for the first time in since I was 14 yrs old which is when I started to work. It’s funny for some reason I though I’d be bored out of my mind but ironically it turns out that I have found myself busier then ever. I guess I’m catching up on doing the things I had put aside for my job (in hind sight that wasn’t a bright idea).

I’ll admit there are times I find people grating on my nerves yea and it’s only been two weeks. My mom bless her as freaked out as she was when she heard I had been let go from my job has actually decided that since I’m not working I can be her 24/7 care taker. I know she’s lonely since my dad passed away so I’m trying hard not to let her drive me insane. She actually lost her dog the other day and I found lovely little pup playing in the kitty litter *gross*.

I have found a great way to keep her busy and occupied so she doesn’t drive me to nuts and she now is working feverently on helping me sew our Funny Little Voodoo Dolls and Little Monster Dolls and she takes the job seriously actually reprimanding me the other day because I wasn’t getting the doll pieces prepared fast enough for her. She’s quiet the speedy demon when it comes to sewing those dolls up and she loves to do it so not only are people getting their dolls infused with good positive energies they are getting them infused with a bath of grandmotherly love.

So some of the things I’ve done since I got let go was catch up on the tons of doctors appointments I never got to when I was working. Aside from the fact that I know have the time to actually go to an appointment I have to get to all of them before my insurance runs out at the end of the month. I’ve also applied to a few jobs because I don’t want to be home for to long it’s not something I’m use to.

I have cooked dozens and I mean dozens of batches of cookies. I’ve watched two seasons of the Tudors. I’ve cleaned my kitchen and done loads of laundry.

I went insane making felted flowers like these

Hair Clip

Tiger Hairclip

Which have now become our newest Stilettoteez.com product.
We even got to go to a POWWOW and I danced in a Friendship circle.

Dancing in a Friendship Circle

Cute Little Warrior

I played assistant to Rob during a few photo shoots he had.

Photoshoot for Healthy Coffee

So I’ve actually been busy. One of the things that I have realized during these past two weeks is that I honestly was so focused on work that I forgot the important things. I missed out on family/school events, didn’t take care of my health and more and in the end I was let go without a thought on the years of dedication that I gave the company I worked for. I can’t get that time back but I have learned from my time there and will use it to better my future.
So for now I’m still sane and haven’t fallen off my rocker. I’m not sure how I will feel as the weeks roll by hopefully it won’t be to long before I find something else, but I’m optimistic and at peace with all of it.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 1:53 pm

    Hi,

    First let me start off by saying I’m sorry you were let go from your job. I am currently a stay at home mom and share in your sentiment that just because you are home, doesn’t mean your days are calm and peachy. I hope that you continue to find ways and partake in events that will keep you “sane” and hopefully keep you blogging.

    • June 17, 2011 1:56 pm

      Thank you, I’m hoping that I won’t go nuts being home. Even as a working mom I was always under the impression that I would be bored being home, my daughter is 15 yrs old and even at this age these past two weeks have not had any dull moments. lol. 🙂

Leave a Reply

