Skip to content

Pulmonary Fibrosis

March 6, 2011

Let's Make A Difference!

Many of you know that my father is dying.  He is dying of a disease called Pulmonary Fibrosis, this disease affects the lungs and creates scarring tissue that builds and makes the lungs less pliable.  The causes of PF are relatively unknown it can be a result of air pollutants, smoking which my father did for years or working with harsh chemicals which he also did for many years.  Typically after the person has been diagnosed their life expectancy is 2-3 years.  My father was diagnosis 10 years ago and up until recently the progression of the disease was relatively slow.

In the past year my father went from someone who worked a part-time job to someone who cannot walk two steps before getting out of breath.  This disease has not only affected him but watching him slowly die from this is one of the worst experiences of my life to date.  I can only say that there is nothing worse than watching a loved one struggle for breath like a fish out of water when he is literally simply trying to bring a cup of coffee to his lips.

Throughout this whole ordeal I’ve watch my dad through his struggle, have quietly cried where he can’t see me and have learned to be a nurse, cheer leader and patient caregiver for him.  With the help of my mom we cater to his needs and try to lend a supportive ear when he vents his frustration,  periodically asking me if he will ever get better I have to reply that he won’t and watch as he comes to terms with his mortality.

There is NO cure, NO medication that will help him. All we can do is try to give him the best quality of life possible and keep him as comfortable as we can. 

As I watched him I cannot help but pray that no one have to go through this and as a result decided to make a special Voodoo Doll in honor of my father and as a way to raise money and awareness about this disease.

Deep Breath

 This doll has been specially made to raise money for the Pulmonary Fibrosis Foundation (pulmonaryfibrosis.org) an organization working on finding hope and a cure for this horrible disease. 

Her name is Deep Breath

The doll is being raffle off through our website http://www.stilettoteez.com/voodoodolls.html.  For each dollar donated your name will be added to our raffle and the winner will be announced on April 15, 2011. 

All it take is $1 if you do not wish to participate I urge you to visit the foundation website and make a donation directly. Please pass this one to everyone you know and help us make a difference today!

To learn more about Pulmonary Fibrosis visit www.pulmonaryfibrosis.org 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

