Skip to content

In my own reality show.

November 17, 2010

So this week I found out that we are once again featured on Esty for one of our top hats and I also found out that we are the featured  blogger on wordpress’ blogs about MTV True Life. I was not only extremely please but honored to make it as a featured blog.  My next goal is to make onto Freshly Pressed on WordPress.

It’s funny though that here I am at 40 being featured on an MTV blog.  Typically this show is for the younger generation and of course my blog about MTV started after watching an episode of True Life – I’m Uncomfortable With My New Body .  Shortly after I posted it I even got a comment from Rocky who was featured in the episode I blogged about.

The funny thing is that I sometimes feel like I’m in my own reality show just minus the cameras. There are times that I sit back and watch the activity around me and I just can’t believe it’s come to this. 

These past two years have been a whirl wind of activity and changes.     

I have Rob who I re-met a little over 2 yrs ago, I say re-met because as children we knew each other My father and his father have been close friends for years.  During the beginning stages of our relationship we hit a rough patch and almost ended up tossing in the towel but eventually we where able to worked it out (hey I got two rings out of the man) and are now planning to get married. So for the past few months I’ve been trying to plan our wedding.    The one thing I can say about Rob is that even though he loves to joke around he is the one that keeps me grounded.  Sorta the voice of reason although he can also be the little devil sitting on my shoulder.  He’s supportive and has been the one to push me ahead with the business and getting it really going.

 In the mist of planning how the heck we are going to get married.  I also work full-time and of course we have the business. 

My parents who are in their 70’s now rely on me for most of their needs with my father’s health deteriorating it seems like I have taken on parenting roll with them.  And let’s not forget my lovely teenager who thinks it’s cool to mope around the house depressed and doesn’t want to be seen with me. I often come home to find her curled up into a ball on the couch with the cat laying on her as if she’s a piece of furniture.  She’s always plugged in to headphones so having a conversation with her requires screaming.

We have a dog who thinks she’s a toddler and runs my parents. I’ve thought of training the dog but I have to train my parents before I train the dog.

I have a cat who thinks she’s a cross between my shadow and a dog and doesn’t know how to meow like a normal cat.  Then there’s my older brother who lives with my parents and will repeat himself a billion times cause he can’t remember he just had a conversation with me. 

My dad who is ill goes through stages of being okay or moping around the house to the point where I don’t know if my daughter is 15 or he is.  My mom bless her is clueless and no matter how many times I explain to her how to use the VCR she’s owned for 20 years she just can’t get it to work.

I have a family of characters that I can write about for days.  Let me state here that I love my family but well were nuts.   In the mist of all the craziness I try to keep myself sane and sometimes I think it’s just not working.

Then of course let’s not forget me.  I barely am able to eat due to the surgery.  I am taking massive doses of vitamin only to be told that I have to take yet another massive dose of Vitamin D and I should get out in the Sun or under some UV lights aka tanning.  Snookie here I come.  Don’t get me wrong I don’t regret my surgery but it sucks to need to take these horse pills and worse yet take some that taste like crap aka my rancid tunafish pill. I sometimes find myself over extended which doesn’t help my physical woes.  From work to business to parents, children, soon to be spouse, health and did I mention pets, work and well you get it.

Somehow, we do manage to throw in some fun things at times.

Of course wedding dress shopping

I'm going post this till everyone get's sick of it.

 Then let’s not forget the trip to the cemetary at Sleepy Hallow. 

Run Forest RUN!!!

 and we even got a chance to sit down with Johnny Meatball’s of My Big Friggin Weddings Father and a few days later we got photos from Johnny himself wearing our tees.

Johnny Meatball!

of course there are always family events

Celebration of Life

and Fun things like Halloween

Boo!

Photo Shoots to support good causes

No H8!

 Events to Support good causes

Torturing of small furry pets

I hate you mom!

and so much more that we do that makes it all worth it. The best thing is that I really wouldn’t change a thing well I’d love to figure out how to peel my kid off the couch but I’ve heard with time she’ll eventually find her way out but other than that life it good.. in my own reality show there is drama, comedy, sadness, and seriousness, craziness, and boughts of fighting but in the end it’s a reality show full of love and I wouldn’t give that up for the world.

Maybe someday I’ll bring in the cameras and be on tv but for now life’s better than Jersey Shore.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

