Skip to content

Mike and Molly on the Fences

October 12, 2010

Ok, so I have been watching the new sitcom called Mike and Molly which follows two over weight characters as they journey through the beginnings of a relationship and over eaters anonymous. 

I’ve now watch the first few episodes and frankly I’m on the fence about the show.  Although I think it’s great that the show has two not thin individuals as the stars some of the jokes and dialog are well not so funny. 

Melissa McCarthy, Billy Gardell "Mike and Molly"

I’ve heard a lot of the what is said between characters said to me when I was overweight reality is these aren’t jokes they are the ridicule, discrimination and rudeness that overweight people hear all the time and in a sitcom it’s haha funny but in reality it’s not. 

I have to admit though that there are parts of the show that I like.  In yesterday’s episode, Molly is upset because she practically throws herself at Mike and he goes running for the hills.  She starts to think it’s her and that he is not attracted to her physically because of the weight, later we find out the truth is Mike ran because he was afraid of taking off his clothing in front of her for fear of rejection. 

They realize in a funny drunk clip that they where both mistaken and both attracted to each other.  The reason I liked that episode was because it dealt with reality of how many obese and overweight people feel. 

In one of my recent clips I spoke of just that, the need to hide my body, even now with the weight gone I wear over sized clothing a lot of the time because I have self-esteem issues and although I’ve worked through many of them the reality is it’s a struggle of a lifetime especially when you’ve been over weight most of your life and have lost the weight it takes time for your mind to catch up.

Don’t get me wrong I have a sense of humor and can laugh at myself yes when I was over weight and heard the fat jokes I’d laugh but truth is that sticks with you and that haha funny joke rides your self-esteem issue boat like a professional sailor. 

So as of now I’m on the fence about the show.  I’m hoping that the focus on these two characters in a more respectful manner cause there are a lot of clips where they are joking about the characters weight and truth is like I said it’s not really all that funny.

I’ll keep you posted on my thoughts about the show and if you’d like to share yours feel free to post them here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mythoughts76 permalink
    October 12, 2010 1:06 pm

    I really like the show, and although I only saw part of that show. I would be mortified to undress in front of a possible bed partner I don’t know very well.. I’m married 24 years and I’m still embarrassed about my fat gut, butt, legs, chin. But hey hubby is very overweight too, and has a huge gut. In fact with obesely overweight people the missionary position is very hard to do and film with empathy for that matter or so I would think. So why do I worry? I am at my heaviest.. 5 ‘ 4″ and 185 pounds. Yeah I have low self esteem and I work on that all the time. I just had to learn to love myself at all stages of my life.

    • October 12, 2010 1:17 pm

      In fact with obesely overweight people the missionary position is very hard to do and film with empathy for that matter or so I would think.

      You know I was thinking about that also as I watched the show I am almost curious as to how they will handle the love scenes.

      And loving ourselves is definately a step by step process.

Leave a Reply

