Skip to content

Cooking with the Phat Girl – Crab Apple Bread

September 20, 2010

The other day while I was having a chat with one of my supervisors we noticed in the backyard of the building a tree which we mistook for a cherry tree at first, but it turned out it was a Crab Apple Tree and it was loaded with tiny Crab Apples.  So on Friday I decided to run out back and pick a batch of them to make bread. Not something you do when your insanely afraid of bugs so every time a leaf would fall on me I’d run around like a mad woman checking to make sure it wasn’t a spider. Since  I regularly make Apple and banana Bread I figured why not use these.   

Ready for a Wash

What I didn’t realize was how hard it was to core and chop these, I didn’t bother to peel them cause frankly I don’t even think I could figure it out if I wanted to.  So I just washed them and chopped them up.

Crabby Apples chopped up

So after I chopped them I got all my ingredients together and started to mix everything up.

Yea I'm no Julia Childs but I try

So basically I used 2 cups of flour, 2 eggs, 1 cup of sugar, 1/2 tsp salt, 1tsp baking powder, 2tbsp milk, 1/2 stick of butter, about 2 cups of the crab apples, 1tbs vanilla and a pinch of nutmeg.

Ready for the Oven

I greased a cake pan and popped it into the oven at 350 for 1 hour.

Nice Job Phat Girl!

After that I let it cool.  You can serve it with milk, a little whip cream or even a scoop of ice cream is nice.  The crab apples have a taste similar to cranberries and if you want a sweeter recipe just add a little extra sugar.

Delish!

And if you don’t want to use butter you can use shortening however I eat so little that when I make something I use full butter because I like the buttery taste and the way the bread seems to be moist.

and then you

YUMMY

Enjoy!  Oh and I prefer my bread warm and fresh out of the oven but that’s mainly because I’m impatient.  I think that this recipe will be added to my things to make every year when that tree kicks in.

Oh and did you notice my shirt? Yup it’s one of our Foot Soldier tees and guess what? I have one to give away! Yup that’s right if you want to have a chance to win one all you have to do is tell me in a comment what your favorite bread is… do you like banana bread? apple, zucchini, or even beer bread? what’s your pleasure? Comment below and a winner will be picked at random and announced on Friday!

So let’s hear it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    September 20, 2010 8:09 pm

    I love Banana Bread!

  2. Joe permalink
    September 20, 2010 8:11 pm

    I love beer bread minus the bread does that still count?

  3. Julian permalink
    September 20, 2010 8:13 pm

    I actually like pumpkin bread haha to the bread comment above

  4. Julie permalink
    September 20, 2010 8:13 pm

    mmmm pumpkin bread love it

  5. terry permalink
    September 21, 2010 11:46 am

    My all time favorite bread is cranberry apple. I’ll have to try this recipe I have a crab apple tree in my back yard.

  6. Jack Thomas permalink
    September 21, 2010 11:46 am

    Irish Soda Bread

Leave a Reply

