Skip to content

Dream Wedding Dress uh.. well sorta

September 17, 2010

So, I was looking at wedding stuff through the internet and came across some postings about a community called the Irish Travelers that left me for a lack of better words very fascinated.  Now my family is believed to be a desendent of gypsies which by the way explains a lot but I won’t go into that and these Irish Travelers as they are called are gypsies. 

The Irish travelers community is a community of well gypsies that travel around doing odd jobs, self employed etc.  They are typically small groups, however they sure do know how to throw a wedding.

Uh..

Apparently by what I read the brides are usually very young this one pictured is 16years old and they are allowed to have anything they want so a typical wedding can cost as much as $100,000 some of the dresses these young ladies wear weigh close to 100lbs and can cost thousands of dollars.

errrr...

Some of them leave little to the imagination

*Crickets*

 Now I’m not ragging on anyones traditions God knows as a Puerto Rican we have our own questionable traditions… And I’m all for the alternative weddings but as I was looking at photos I couldn’t help but to giggle I just can’t even imagine trying to wander around in any of these dresses let alone pay that much for a wedding.

The Bridesmaids

But now I’m re-thinking my Dream Wedding dress.  Maybe just maybe I’ll walk down the isle in one of these

Yea the brides the one sitting on the floor.

What do you think?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jenny permalink
    September 18, 2010 10:51 pm

    nice pictures
    beautiful dresses

  2. October 14, 2014 4:38 pm

    Irish Travelers do not trace their genealogy through Europe to India. They are not gypsies. They sure do go all out on weddings.

    • October 15, 2014 6:11 pm

      So is an Irish Traveler different then a gypsy?? my father’s family originally come from Spain and France.. but there is some thought that there might have been a few gypsies in our mix. Who know 🙂

Leave a Reply

