Skip to content

Top Hat of the Morning to You!

September 14, 2010

Well, in one of my moments of crafting lunacy I started to make mini top hats.  

This is a classic black and white

I actually made my first hat and realized hmmm.. this is very therapeutic. 

The first hat

One of the things that I learned to do as I was going through this weight lost process was to keep myself busy.  A lot of time we eat because we are bored it’s pretty simple and even though I rarely get physically hungry I use to get a lot of mental hunger in the beginning stages of my surgery.  What I learned to do instead of attempting to eat something I knew might make me sick was to knit.  So I started knitting and knitting and knitting and I’ll confess to date I can’t knit a scarf to save my life.  But it kept me occupied and my mind off the mental hunger. 

A Mini Pill Box Hat

Through out the years I’ve busied myself with a number of projects and crafting. From some of the art work I make that you can find on the website to the simple act of doodling on scraps of paper (a bad habit I picked up from my dad who’ll doodle on anything doesn’t matter if it’s an important document).  

The point of this is when your dieting and I’m using that word even through I hate the word DIEting. You need to do things to avert your attention from food. For some like me is getting into making or crafting or art for others it can be as simple as taking a walk when you feel the hungriest.  

And another thing I’ve learned is to try to not eat in front of the TV because I find that 1 I either eat to fast and puke or 2 I eat too much and puke either one is a bad thing.  So try to move away from distraction when your eating and into distractions when you’re not.  

Anyway, If you want to see more of my Top Hats, check out www.stilettoteez.com.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Joanne permalink
    September 15, 2010 9:47 am

    Oh My God! I love these hats. Do you take custom orders? I’m getting married and would love to have a hat created for my wedding.

    • September 15, 2010 10:11 am

      Absolutely, we take custom orders for not only our Top Hats but also our Tee-shirts, Tanks and Hairclips. If you’re looking for a custom Top Hat for your wedding email or call me and I’ll be happy to get it going for you.

      M.

  2. Diane permalink
    September 15, 2010 10:40 pm

    I purchased one of your hats through ebay. I love it it looks amazing and I can’t wait to wear it out.

Leave a Reply

