Skip to content

I’m NOT uncomfortable with my new body take #2 – Food and Guilt

August 9, 2010

If you guys read my earlier post about the MTV episode of True Life where they follow two young adults through their struggles with Weight Loss, you’ll recall that Rocky one of the individuals had his Lapband loosened up so that he can attempt to lose the weight on his own and then he ends up going to a diner shortly after and pretty much eating all he can.  At the end of the scene he states how he feels guilty.

Food Guilt is something that I’ve struggled with myself.  When I was at my heaviest I always felt a sense of guilt when eating.  I was fat why did I have to eat that or this.  It got to the point where I would literally hide when I ate as if I was doing something wrong. 

The fact is we have to eat to survive, but when your obese you learn to have, at least for me,  a love hate relationship with food.  One of the things that I would find myself doing was binge eating as a result of hiding when I ate.  I would starve myself all day long and when I was alone and home it was binge time. 

To this day 7 yrs out from my surgery I still struggle with Food Guilt.  There are times that I get up in the middle of the night and I feel somewhat hungry which for some reason doesn’t happen very often for me.  I’ll have a cracker, or a piece of bread of some milk and will literally feel guilty for eating it.  My good guilt isn’t as bad as it was in the beginning but it still exist. 

Even when you have surgery to lose the excess weight or you attempt to do it yourself you can still struggle with a number of issues related to obesity such as food guilt, self-esteem, etc.  There where times that I use to think to myself if only I where thinner things would be different but the truth is losing weight doesn’t alter your mind and thoughts.

That’s why and I can’t stress it enough it’s so important to get counseling when you’ve had the surgery or even when you’re in the process of losing weight in a natural way. Especially if you’ve been over weight your entire life.  Joining a group or individual counseling helps a lot and reduces the changes of re-gaining the weight.  Let’s face it weight loss surgery is NOT a cure it’s simply a tool that will help you get to where you want to.

So that’s my two cents for today.  Rocky recognized that he couldn’t do it alone and he went back to using his tool. Kudos to him for seeing that and taking action! I hope he continue to be a success story!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 2, 2012 10:02 pm

    Marisol Thank you for the kind words and support. It is no longer surprising that my struggle is similar to your struggle and many others, at first I was actually blown away!
    I have an UPDATE FOR YOU! Two years in the making MTV’s:Truelife presents my follow up in “I’m getting a Second Chance” Check it out and let me know what you think. Link below

    http://www.mtv.com/videos/true-life-im-getting-a-second-chance/1683466/playlist.jhtml

    XO-Rocky
    http://www.samrrockytayeh.com
    http://www.facebook.com/rockytayeh
    http://www.twitter.com/rockytayeh

Leave a Reply

