Skip to content

Breastfeeding a law?

August 9, 2010

In an interview in the September issue of Harper’s Bazaar U.K., Super model Gisele Bundchen whose a 30-year-old mother said she felt there should be a worldwide law requiring mothers to breastfeed their babies for six months, according to People. “Some people here think they don’t have to breastfeed and I think, ‘Are you going to give chemical food to your child when they are so little?'” Bundchen told the magazine.

Make way as I stand on my soap box please…. WTF is this woman thinking? really? seriously? ok grant it I had my daughter almost 15 years ago and I’m not against breastfeeding actually I tried to breastfeed her for the first week of her tiny life. I’m sure for a lot of mothers it’s a great thing this breastfeed but for me yea it wasn’t so great.  First off I had no milk, nothing, nada, not even a single droplet.  Second she wouldn’t latch on now why they use the term latch like your kid is some leech or some… well okay forget it I see why now. And to add insult to injury I had the crazy “La Leche” nurse yelling at me and calling me a loser for not breastfeeding my kid when I told her to get me an f-ing bottle or I’d get it myself.

Needless to say breastfeeding was not a happy-go-lucky loving child/mom bonding experience for me and I’m more than certain I’m not the only one out there.  All we need is some crazy Supermodel trying to enact a law for breastfeeding! sigh… as Lisa Lampanelli says “Gisele Bundchen thinks women shud have 2 breastfeed for 6 mos. I want supermodels passing laws like I want Lindsay Lohan driving me home!” Yea I don’t think any of us want that.

Ok so I get it it’s a bonding experience. It’s nutritional for your baby, it’s the best thing for them.  But not everyone is cut out to be a breastfeeding mom.  So please for God’s Sake stop it Gisele.

Ok.. getting off my soap box now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

