Skip to content

Being a Weight Loss Surgery Foodie

July 11, 2010

Definition of a Foodie –  A person having and avid interest in the latest food fads. 

I love to watch cooking shows and baking challenges.  Actually my favorite current channels are FoodTV and the Wedding Network.  I also love cooking and baking and usually in the winter can be found baking away in the kitchen all sorts of cookies, treats, cakes, and desserts.  My family and friends don’t mind this because they benefit from all the cooking that I do. 

Having had weight loss surgery almost 7 years ago I eat very little.  I have a VBG also knowns as a Vertical Banded Gastroplasty.  Basically I have a mesh band around my stomach along with 12 rows of staples.  This causes me to eat very little and when I say very little I mean VERY little.  I’ll give you a simple example: 

Chicken Nuggets

For easy figure we all know what the McDonald’s chicken nuggets look like right?  Well I can eat two that’s right two chicken nuggets in one sitting.  I can not go beyond 2 because if I do more than likely I will vomit.  Another example for ease a burger from McD’s for me means 1/4 to 1/2 of a cheese burger in one sitting. 

So why does someone who really doesn’t eat love to cook ? simple after having the surgery done I had to get very creative on the foods that I ate.  I have been cooking since I was 7 years old, now the cooking consisted of the basic Spanish foods of Rice, Chicken and Beans.  Everything fried, covered in salt and swimming in lard which contributed to the obesity.  By the time I was in middle school I had already won my first cooking contest for an upside down pineapple cake that I had forgotten to removed the pits from the cherries I used on. By the time I was in high school I could cook just about anything and often did. 

After the surgery I found that there was a little side effect called “Dumping”.  Dumping happens when you eat too much sugar or too much fat.  Basically your stomach will try to flush it all out with a surge of fluids which causes severe and when I say severe I can’t even begin to describe it but it’s severe stomach pains, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea and the best of it the shaking, chills and feeling that death is hopefully coming soon to take you out of the misery. This will go on anywhere from 20 minutes to 45 or more.  The only good thing about dumping is that once it happens trust me you will do everything in your power to prevent it from happening again. 

And so I learned my lesson which resulted in my having to alter my cooking, I learned how to be a foodie and really think about what I eat, looking at photos of things to cook, recipes, ideas, reading blogs and trying my own version of the foods I grew up with.  

My mother looked on in horror one evening as she watched me pan fry a chicken breast in a non greased fry pan.  Where was the oil and the lard? Or worse when she saw me make white rice and not only not add oil but to insult it further I didn’t add salt either! sacrilege! 

I still make cookies and cakes, treats and ice cream I simple altar things up to lower the oils, fats and salt.  Baking instead of pan frying grilling outside in the middle of winter. The best thing about being a weight loss surgery foodie is that it got me to try new things like humus and brie cheese, greek yogurt with honey and even tofu! and it got me to stop eating fried fatty foods. 

Yes I admit I occasionally have the McD’s nuggets and cheese burger.  Heck today we had burgers and fries from 5 guys. But I try to limit that to a rare almost non existant lately pizza seems to be the big kicker in the family and that’s because Rob would eat it morning noon and night given the chance but even pizza can be altered to a less greasy more healthy meal. 

So I guess I can proudly call myself an official Foodie and I’m thinking of starting a club for all us WLS foodies out there and even making  tee-shirts for us!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

